top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeslie S.

Creamy Sausage & Rotel Dip (Whole 30)

Let me introduce you to your new favorite dip, this is a showstopper!

If you walk into any room with this dip, you would have a hard time convincing anyone that this is dairy-free. It is so creamy, dreamy and indulgent but with the cleanest ingredients. I am not even sure it is fair to call this recipe a dip. You can pour this over potatoes, rice, biscuits or a shoe (literally my husband's words) and it will not disappoint. I created this recipe based on my favorite breakfast sausage gravy. I have been making my Grandma's gravy recipe for years but have tweaked it over time with cleaner ingredients.


I searched the internet for anything similar to what was in my mind and nothing came up. After many test runs, the dip was born! I thickened the gravy, used Italian sausage, spices and the dip hero of the world, Rotel. I hope you all enjoy this dip all football season long and beyond!


 

Ingredients


1 Pound Sugar-free Italian Sausage (Pederson's Natural Farms)

1 1/2 Cups Coconut Milk

1 Can Rotel

3 Tbsp. Tapioca Flour

1 Tsp Salt

1 Tsp Fresh Ground Pepper

1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

1/2 Tsp Onion Powder

1/4 Tsp Cayenne Pepper


In a large pan or cast-iron skillet brown the Italian sausage over medium-high heat. Using a spatula, break apart into finely ground pieces. Add the tapioca flour one tablespoon at a time until well combined. Continue to cook for a couple of minutes and the flour will begin to brown.


Pour in the coconut milk, stirring your mixture continuously. Add all of the spices and continue to stir. Scrape the bottom of the pan with the spoon/spatula while you stir to keep from sticking. The liquid will begin to thicken. Once fully incorporated and about half of the coconut milk has reduced, add the can of Rotel. Stir continuously to prevent the Rotel and milk from separating. Let simmer 10-15 minutes or until the dip has thickened.


Take the pan off of the heat, stir again and let cool. It will continue to thicken as it cools.


Pour on everything and ENJOY!

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page